Skip to content

rekindling a faltered fire

February 28, 2017
tags: , ,

When it comes to routine, I kind of suck.  Well, unless that routine includes sitting like I have no skeleton on the couch while the television plays mindlessly through things I’ve already seen.  I’m rather good at that. It’s my default state.

Every night I come home with good intentions that slowly disintegrate under the pull of lethargy.  I’m also really good at rationalizing it.  It was a long day.  I’m really tired.  I feel like I might be getting sick.  You know how that is.

But, I’ve been thinking a lot about getting back into the practice of a daily spiritual practice, the way I used to do when I first started studying shamanism and such.  A part of that has included re-dedicating myself to the journey I started not quiet a year ago to make myself healthy.

So, I guess what I’m looking to do is to start a whole being practice.  Daily work on my body, my mind, my spirit.  Because I want to continue to grow.  I want to become a better person.

The beginning of this endeavor was rearranging the living room, an effort that afforded me the space to put in an ancestor altar and space in which I can actually do yoga. While I wait for the things I need to put together the altar, I want to start slowly incorporating a few different things toward the other aspects.

Last night, I purposefully sat down to meditate for the first time in a while.  It used to be the way I ended every day.  It only lasted about ten minutes because I had to get up and break up a cat fight, and most of that time was spent trying to stop the wild, mad spinning of my brain, but it’s a start.  Tonight, I will try again…but before I do, I want to get some form of exercise in, either yoga or some time on the elliptical.

With some determination, I hope to do both of these every day in March.  By the end of March I should have some things on hand for other parts of that practice and I can add to the routine in April.  Little steps form the basis of any journey. One small spark can bring down a city.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

