Skip to content

the year that begins with endings

January 14, 2016

My 2016 did not start out on the foot I expected, or wanted it to.  Three days into the new work year, I was laid off from a job that I loved more than I thought a person could love a regular 9to5 day job.

I don’t hold any grudges.  I realize that there are reasons for the lay off.  I get that choices are hard in times like these.  As much as I don’t like the uncertainty of being out of work, I would never wish it on any of the amazing people I worked with either.

It does, however, put me back in that place I always flounder a bit:  the dreaded job search.  I am not very good at tooting my own horn.  I’ve always let me work speak for itself.  However, when you are coming into a situation with no work to show, that can be problematic.

I know I’m good at what I do.  I’m a good editor and writer.  I’m great at managing projects large and small.  I am pretty good with some data analysis. I’ve even learned a bit of code along the way.

The problem is, how do you reflect that in a resume? How do you show the hiring manager of the next great job that you can do the job?  How do you convince them to give you the opportunity to prove yourself? Especially when all of your writing samples are company confidential.

I’m really hoping that this is one of those cases where a door is closed and somewhere new a door opens.  In the meantime, I apply to as many jobs as I can find in the world of writing, and hope that someone sees past the lines on a resume to recognize the talent I possess while working on the next novel.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

