Skip to content

unconditional love

December 31, 2015

I was looking back at posts I’ve made on Facebook for the last few New Year’s eves and there is a resounding theme through them, a theme of love.

Being Pagan, I do my planning for the new year, my working of will to affect change in my own life at Samhain.  I don’t do resolutions, as such, because all too often we make big promises to ourselves that we can not even begin to keep and then wallow in our failure.  I review all the things I didn’t like about the current year and I make a plan for minimizing those things in the coming year.

At New Years, instead of making resolutions, I choose then to make wishes for others.  And for the last three I have wished for love.  Not a new relationship.  Not a rekindled affair.  Not that kind of love. Not the small minded, jealous of others, possessive sort of love.  I wish for the kind of love that changed me for the better.

I wish for all to feel the touch of unconditional, unfettered, unstoppable love.  The kind you give to yourself first.  Let it begin in your heart and burn away your self-doubt, your self-loathing, your fear of inadequacy, your fear of intimacy, your fear of being bold.  Let it blossom within you and change the way you see yourself and from there it will change the way you see others, the way you see the world.

Let me pause a moment to address what I mean by unconditional love.  It means love without conditions.  It does not mean that there are no boundaries on behavior.  It does not mean anything goes. It means loving yourself through it all, never letting go of that love.  And it applies outward too.  Unconditional love for another doesn’t mean you have to allow them to hurt themselves or others. It doesn’t mean approving of everything they do. It doesn’t mean putting yourself in harm’s way.

It means loving them anyway.  It means never giving up, never letting go of that love.

When you can embrace that love for yourself, it will drive out the fear and the hate. It will bring you a freedom unlike anything you have ever known.

My wish for you as we head into 2016 is that you find this love, that you share this love, that you give love, that you accept love, that you love yourself.  Beyond that, I wish that you do one thing you don’t think you can do, that you face your fears, embrace your faults, that you challenge yourself everyday to be a better version of yourself, that you do something that scares you, do the things that you love, that you help someone who can never repay you and that you care for your body and mind.

May 2016 bring you joy and blessings.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eireann permalink
    January 5, 2016 3:42 pm

    That is an absolutely beautiful sentiment ♥

Leave a Reply

