Skip to content

…moving, when words are not enough…

March 22, 2015

I am a single woman with health issues that impact my mobility.  I live alone by choice and I almost always prefer that.  There are times, however, when I think it wouldn’t be bad to have someone here with me, someone who could help do the things I can’t do as well any more.

Never is that more true than it is right now, as I prepare to move out of this one bedroom apartment and into a two bedroom duplex.  Moving is not a one person task. Particularly when that one person can only “work” in 30 minute intervals and the rest time between those intervals grows ever long as the work continues.

I’m glad i started well before I actually found my new place, otherwise there would be no way I would be even close to ready when I pick up the keys this Wednesday.

It doesn’t help that almost everyone I would turn to for help is broken in some way, from back problems to arthritis to various lifting restrictions for various reasons. Asking is never my first though anyway.  I pride myself on my self reliance, on my ability to get done what needs to get done.

This is my last weekend to get it done too.  I work in the office on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, and pick up the keys after work on Wednesday.  The first loads of stuff to go up I will be handling alone, first in my car and then in my step-father’s truck.  I do have some help coming in the evening on Thursday, which is when we will move the things I absolutely can’t do on my own.

I sit here sipping on my last cup of coffee and looking around at this place that has been my home for nearly 6 years, stacks of boxes, plastic bins, suitcases that reflect the collected stuff of my life and I wonder again, as I have since this journey started, …where did it all come from? Why am I holding on to a book report I wrote in 5th grade, or a ticket stub from a movie I didn’t even like?  Am I really so sentimental as to need to keep a picture of a friend whose name I can’t even recall?

I’ve probably trashed or donated more than half of the possessions that filled this apartment a month ago,and I still have a ridiculous amount of *stuff* that I  am taking with me…and I’m sure it won’t take long before I begin accumulating again.

Well, I’m almost to the end of this cup of coffee, which means it’s time to get myself up and get moving.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2015 4:09 pm

    Good luck in this new phase of your life.

Leave a Reply

