Skip to content

…and now for something completely different….

January 3, 2014

I got up on New Year’s day with a sudden, clear thought.

It was time.

Which, given it’s vagueness may not seem too profound to you.  But it was for me.

See, there was a project that I had been futzing with since I was 16.  Okay, not really.  But it had it’s beginnings then.  In my teens, every year for Christmas, I gave a collection of poetry and short stories I had written throughout the year to my mother and my father.  

At 16, one of those stories was a short piece about a vampire who had been locked up in a medieval asylum.  For the next few years, I wrote a new piece about that vampire until suddenly I realized it needed to be a novel.

I spent years of my life reorganizing the parts I’d written, filling in the gaps, fleshing out the characters.  And then I decided it wasn’t good enough and it got put away.  A few years later, I joined a writer’s group and brought it out again.  It went through a major re-write.  Some of the plot changed.

And then…it got put away again.  And there it’s sat.

I’ve written since then.  I’ve even published since then.  But New Year’s day, I knew it was time.  I spent the whole day re-reading, minor edits for clarity and typos.  I asked a few of my friends who had self published where they went, what sites they liked.

I ended up opting for Smashwords for E-book distribution and Amazon’s Create Space for physical books on demand.  I spent the time I wasn’t working today working on formatting for those and creating a book cover and all that jazz.

The Amazon stuff is still processing, but my book “Forever” is now available on Smashwords. Click the link and it will take you there!  For a mere $4.99 you can own a digital copy of my sweat and blood and neurotic need to be loved!

Or, if you prefer the actual paper stuff, give me a few days.  I’ll come back and post a link when it’s ready.

EDIT TO ADD: The book is now available on Amazon! So Excited!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2014 10:35 am

    Congratulations on tying this labor of love in a bow and sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

