Skip to content

the further misadventures of an intrepid…um….Me….

June 8, 2013

I haven’t posted here in a bit, because in many ways I’ve been at a loss for what to say. I got laid off of my job just over a month ago and was doing the whole job search thing and playing with my camera and such.

However, my life of leisure came to a close on Thursday of this week when I accepted a position at a company in San Francisco that combines my 20+ years of experience into one job with a team I’m already fond of. Yesterday was my first day of work, which is to say a day long orientation.

Before I left for work yesterday, I took what I thought was a couple of chicken breasts out of the freezer, put them in the fridge to thaw so that I would have something to cook when I got home. Once I’d gotten home and called my various parental units to let them know how my day went (yes, I’m 44 and I called my mommy and my daddy after my first day of work. Don’t judge me.) I headed into the kitchen to cook.

My intent was to use the very yummy tikka masala sauce in my cupboard with the chicken and make some rice to go with. Only, I pulled the “chicken” out of the fridge, only to discover it was pork. Okay. Well then. I guess we’re having pork tikka masala…because my mouth was set on the flavor of tikka masala at this point. I’d been thinking about it all day.

So I diced up the pork and set it to browning, then reached for my bag of rice…which is about when I remembered I had used the last of it. I had a very small amount of wild rice, but other than that….not much. Until I spied the box of whole wheat spaghetti.

Yes. I really did. I pulled it down, broke it in half and dumped it into the boiling water. I figured at that point the whole thing was just another grand experiment in the kitchen adventures of my life….and it would either rock my world or be a disaster I never talked about again.

Here I am talking about it though. So, you can infer from that it turned out okay. I cooked the pasta to a nice al dente, put some in a bowl and poured my pork tikka masala over it. I won’t lie, I was a little hesitant at first, but I’m a fairly adventurous foodie, so I dug in and was very happy with the outcome. The pork could probably have cooked a little longer to be a little more tender, but over all the flavors went very well together.

Just goes to show you….don’t get in the way of a girl on a mission for some tikka masala.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

