Skip to content

…stuck in the middle with you…

March 1, 2012

In recent discussions on a particular news site I have noticed that belief has been segmented by many into “Christian” and “Atheist” with no consideration for the fact that others involved in the conversation might not ascribe to either label.

In fact, for the first time in my life I’ve had two people (that I know of) assume that I am an Atheist simply because I disagree with Christian posters.

Faith is not divided into two camps. Hell, even within those two camps there are hundreds of other camps.

Duality, in my opinion, denies they multi-faceted reality of the world in which we live. When all we see is black and white, us and them, we fail to experience the full spectrum of life.

I am neither Atheist nor Christian. My beliefs about Deity are not shared by many. My opinions on things are not dictated by any organized religion or philosophy, but by my experience in life. My friendships are not based on the claimed faith of the other person, but on their actions and personality. I have a beautiful, amazing circle of people in my life that showcase the amazing spectrum of belief, faith and religion in this country.

I can not imagine a world where the only choices were belief in one specific thing or not believing. I can not imagine thinking of the world in those terms.

Faith is not a straight line between the haves and have-nots. It’s a great big mandala just waiting for us to color it in…and I just happen to have a box of crayons…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2012 11:45 am

    Most religions have certain tenants that they ascribe to. Christians, Jews, Muslims Just to name the major ones and if you don’t believe then you might as well be atheist it really doesn’t matter to them. In Roman times they had numerous gods and when Moses was by the burning bush He had to be introduced to who God really was, hence the name I AM. He had no idea which god was speaking. Anyone can make for themselves their own god, it is more common than true devotion to a single God we don’t like to have restrictions or being confined to one belief unless we see a benefit out of it. If we do ascribe to a single god then we need to know what is expected of us and what we receive in return. Just like any other contract that any corporation or employment or any purchase agreement would have. If the believer didn’t know this or follow once he knows then is he really a follower of that god? So what is the new religion you have made that we can say you are following so it can have the proper title and respect due it?

  2. July 13, 2012 12:17 pm

    Hi Bob, welcome to my blog.

    I think a defining aspect of a “religion” is that is does have rules, tenants of their faith, defined and accepted methods of behavior. It is how you understand them to be a religion, and yes, if one is a part of that religion and ceases to believe, or your beliefs change, it is likely a time to remove yourself from that religion.

    It took me a while to do that, but I did.

    If one researches the history of the area, one would discover that even YHWH is in fact an amalgamation of multiple deities. Monotheism was unheard of really before the Jewish people created YHWH from various local deities (which ultimately explains the rather schizophrenic behavior of the Judeo/Christian god….as several of those deities were pastoral and others were gods of war).

    I posit that we all create our own gods, only we don’t all realize it. Some of us share similar ideas of our god, which gives us an illusion that we share faith, that we serve one god.

    I’m not big on labels as a general rule. The biggest label that fits is Pagan. I can also claim Shamanic. My practices come from various teachings and faiths, so Eclectic works as well. However, these all define ME and not my “religion”. My ideas about deity are far removed from any narrow definition and allow for all “religion” to have its place in the world, and in the hearts of men.

    • July 13, 2012 3:00 pm

      Two points that I differ with one Amalgamation of multiple deities, God is God that is the whole point behind Exodus and Moses going in front of Pharaoh. Gods name when Moses asked was I Am that I AM. I am always amazed though that some knew God even before the Jews knew who He was and worshiped and offered sacrifice to Him. The other point is have a place for all other religions. I cant do that, you can choose what you want to worship and call it religion but God in saying I Am, made the statement that He is God the only real God and there is no other way to eternal life. He proved this throughout the Old Testament. We are all spirit and feel the mortality of our flesh but our spirit lives on and the way to do that is through the one God and the way He set forth. I didn’t come to know Him because I felt I needed religion in my life. I had never really gone to church as a kid and hated it and religions in general. The difference is we are talking about a living God not a dead religion. Thats what changed me I met Him and once you do that there is no other way at least for me. I am terrible at keeping rules and dont like conformity so for me I know the way I can do this is with His help everyday and His support in my life. When I heard Jesus say I am the way the truth and the life I can truly say that without God in my life it rang alot more hollow than it does now. It is so much easier with Him in my life, So thanks for the time great blog and post some pics of the Presidio if you can, I always loved that and also Sausalito would be nice.

      • July 13, 2012 3:21 pm

        Of course, for your argument, one must first believe that there is, in fact One God, and that the bible tells his story.

        I’ve done a lot of reading and research on the area of the Middle East where Judaism came into being. I can trace the various aspects of the various gods and recognize them in the aspects of YHWH. It was, after all, common practice of the ancients to adopt the gods of other lands, and even sync them with similar gods of their own culture.

        You said, “The other point is have a place for all other religions. I cant do that, you can choose what you want to worship and call it religion but God in saying I Am, made the statement that He is God the only real God and there is no other way to eternal life.”

        Again, to believe that, one must first believe the bible is what it says it is. And the word “worship” is a bit of a loaded word. I don’t worship anything or anyone. The word implies a surrendering of self that I won’t do again.

        I’m happy for you that you found peace and happiness within Christianity. I did not. Further proof that we are all different, with differing needs and desires…and that’s a good thing. Imagine how boring life would be if we all agreed on everything!

        I haven’t been up to the Presido in a while. Maybe I’ll get up that way with my camera before the summer’s over. Sausalito is gorgeous too.

  3. July 14, 2012 7:28 pm

    Almost bought a house in Sausalito we would have been neighbors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

