Skip to content

a not so distant dream

July 11, 2011

If you’ve read previous posts, you will know that I support unique charity opportunities and grass roots support for causes that matter to the individual.

Some of you may have already heard of www.kickstarter.com, but I wanted to share it with you because this is something I believe is going to be the next wave in funding creative work.

The site is filled with projects, small and large, in all manner of creative mediums, from music to visual arts to web media to photography and all manner of other things.  The creative folks behind each project tell you all about their dream, about the process of giving birth to something creative and beautiful and amazing and they tell you what it will take financially to make that birth happen, and then they tell you what they are willing to give you in return for your help with the money.

The rewards can be small, just a thank you on a web page, or they can be big, a set visit during the shooting of the production.  They can be tangible too, merchandise branded with the name of the project, replicas, books…really the only limit is the imagination of the person behind the project.

So far I’ve supported a webseries and the recording of a CD.  I’m sure in the future I will find more.  In a way, it kind of reminds me of Kiva, a website that uses microloans to help people find their way to a dream.

As you may or may not know, aside from being a writer, I am also a photographer.  I haul my camera around with me nearly everywhere, exploring the world and expressing myself through pictures.

You can see some of my work here: NJC Photography

…though I will ask your indulgence as it is a new website and I haven’t had the time to upload all the images I aim to.

That brings me to a little more self-pimping…because I too have started a kickstarter project.  Sacred Spaces is the name of the project.  That link will take you to the website for the project itself, while this one will take you directly to the Kickstarter page.

I hope that you will check Kickstarter out, and if you’re not feeling my project as something you want to back, maybe you’ll find another that sets your heart racing.  It’s an amazing world we live in when a bunch of people offering up $5 and $10 each can fund art projects and musical masterpieces and masterful story telling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

