Skip to content

…one tin soldier…

October 8, 2010

I’ve been at a loss lately for how to respond to the vicious hatred, the fear that I see all around me.  From politicians who use fear and extremes to control the vote to bullies who use hatred and fear to push anyone who is different away from themselves.

It feels like it is escalating out of control.  Every where I turn there are news stories about children and young adults driven to suicide…or religious extremists screaming about how another person lives their lives…or politicians insisting that their opponent winning will be the death blow to freedom and democracy.

I’m not, by any means, a gentle flower.  I don’t scare easily, and I tend to take any situation as a lesson to learn from, but I’m not sure anymore what can be learned by trying to understand people who refuse to learn from others, people who would rather cower in their fear and hide in their hate than to realize that the people that they fear and hate are…at their very core, brothers and sisters, members of the same human race.

It’s part of why I’ve been silent so long…trying to make sense of it.  But maybe there is no sense to be made here.

 

I was reminded today of an old song I used to love.  It speaks to this to some degree.

“Go ahead and hate your neighbor, go ahead and cheat a friend.
Do it in the name of heaven, you can justify it in the end.
There won’t be any trumpets blowin’ come the judgment day.
On the bloody morning after one tin soldier rides away.”

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

